The Session No.63 – The Beer Moment

#63: The BEER MOMENT


“The Session is a monthly event for the beer blogging community which was started by Stan Hieronymus at Appellation Beer. On the first Friday of each month, all participating bloggers write about a predetermined topic. Each month a different blog is chosen to host The Session, choose the topic, and post a roundup of all the responses received. For more info on The Session, check out the Brookston Beer Bulletin’s nice archive page.”

– PETE BROWN





This is my first contribution to The Session. I only started blogging in January of this year so this is only the fifth opportunity I’ve had to participate but I think the primary reason I’ve never contributed before now is that I’ve never been presumptuous enough to consider myself to a ‘beer blogger’. I still don’t consider myself a beer blogger – I’m just someone who occasionally waffles pish and shit about beer and getting drunk – but I decided after reading a few of this month’s offerings that I’d give it a blast. This edition of The Session is hosted by Pete Brown. I can’t imagine there are many people reading these words who aren’t already aware who Pete Brown is but just in case you haven’t heard of him, get your arse over to his blog as he really is one of the finest writers in the world of beer (and beyond).


THE BEER MOMENT

Is there such a thing as the beer moment? Of course there is… actually, there are numerous beer moments..

When you’re flicking through Twitter and you notice someone you trust getting excited about a beer you’ve never tried – that’s a beer moment.

When you pop into your local beer emporium and find a brew you’ve been longing to taste – that’s a beer moment.

When you get home with your purchases and delicately place them on the shelf alongside the other members of your special reserve selection, perhaps even spending a few minutes rearranging the collection – that’s a beer moment.

When you’ve decided that the first beer of the evening has reached the perfect drinking temperature and you’ve flipped off the crown cap or pulled out the cork and the beer is sitting there patiently waiting to be poured – that’s a beer moment.

When you’ve selected the appropriate (or if the mood takes you, the inappropriate) glassware and you’ve caressed the liquid from the bottle and placed the glass on the table so you can take a few moments to admire the view – that’s a beer moment.

When you’ve taken a deep inhalation and your senses have been beautifully bombarded by a glorious aroma that reminds you a million fantastic memories – that’s a beer moment.

When you’ve slipped some beer into your mouth and it rolls across your tongue and slides down your throat and huge spontaneous smile spreads across your lips – that’s a beer moment.

But, as far as I’m concerned the single greatest beer moment follows on from all of those moments…

When you’ve been caught up in something… perhaps twatting about on the internet or reading an interesting magazine article or grooving out to some tunes or idly chatting with your partner… you’ve got so caught up in something that for a few minutes you’ve actually forgotten that your beer even exists but then you slowly turn to the side and your beer is sitting there, you smile, nod your head approvingly and then reach out your hand – that’s the beer moment.

THE BEER MOMENT

~ by landells on May 4, 2012.

7 Responses to “The Session No.63 – The Beer Moment”

  1. You forget about your beer? Madness! 😉

    • To (almost) quote David Byrne: I really enjoy forgetting. When I first experience a beer, I notice all the little details. Then I get used to the beer and I don’t notice those things anymore. So only by forgetting can I experience the beer again as it really is.

  2. Very well put. I was reading down your list going yes, that’s a beer moment, and that, and that. I’d add sharing a great beer that you love with good friends and watching the smile spread across their faces as they appreciate it too. I’m always doing the forgetting thing too, usually because there’s a laptop in the way.

    • The sharing with friends thing is another classic beer moment but I decided to keep my list entirely personal – a more or less one-to-one experience… just me and my beverage.

      Glad I’m not the only person who forgets my beer!

  3. Interesting. Those are very solitary beer moments. (Not a criticism, just an observation!)

    • Yup. I had some more moments I was going to add in – ones that involved other people – but I felt their addition would’ve knocked the sequence out of sync, made it non-linear and ultimately weakened the post.

  4. Nothing wrong with a solitary beer moment… even if you are with friends you can have a micro beer moment where it’s just you and your beer…

    http://brewbeeranddrinkit.com/the-beer-moment/

Leave a Reply

 
