The Session No.65 – So Lonely

So Lonely

 
“The Session is a monthly event for the beer blogging community which was started by Stan Hieronymus at Appellation Beer. On the first Friday of each month, all participating bloggers write about a predetermined topic. Each month a different blog is chosen to host The Session, choose the topic, and post a roundup of all the responses received. For more info on The Session, check out the Brookston Beer Bulletin’s nice archive page.”

This month’s Session is hosted by Nathaniel Southwood of Booze, Beats & Bites 

 

 

DRINKING ALONE IN THE 21st CENTURY…

I’ve got no problem going to the pub alone. Sometimes it’s just for a swift pint and other times it descends into a drunken blur. Sometimes it’s visiting a pub that friends I’m meeting with later don’t want to go to so I go there for a couple before going to their pub of choice. Sometimes it’s because I’m somewhere other than my hometown and I can’t find anyone who wants to come out and play. Sometimes it because I know a particular pub has a particular beer. Of course, drinking is far more enjoyable when you’ve got someone to shoot the shit with… but in the tech-overload world of the 21st century are we ever truly alone? No, we’re not… at least not as long as we have a battery with some charge in it and a half-decent wi-fi signal. These days whenever I’m drinking alone I get out my iProduct, hook up to the wi-fi and start tweeting about what pub I’m and what beer I’m drinking. Within a few minutes I’ll be having beer-related conversations with people from Leeds or London or Southampton or Somesuchplace. Now, I fully admit that chatting to people online isn’t anywhere near as joyous as getting into a nice slice of conversation with another human being who is actually right beside you but it is a whole lot more rewarding than flicking through the local paper 17 times or wondering when was the last time somebody bothered to dust the pub windowsill or hoping that the pub cat will come over for a cuddle. One of the primary roles of a pub is to be a social interaction centre but on the days it fails to fulfil that role I’m glad I can log onto a social network website and shoot the shit with my far-flung friends.

~ by landells on July 6, 2012.

4 Responses to “The Session No.65 – So Lonely”

  1. Hold up. Pubs have cats over there? Or is this a figure of speech for something else?

    • Quite a few pubs have cats over here although it’s perhaps not as common an occurrence as it once was – as more and more pubs become “dog friendly” the pub cat is sadly vanishing from view.

  2. I love drinking alone in pubs. Very happy to be in the company of my own thoughts for hours on end – how often do you get the time to just sit and think? Beer drinking at its best is in essence meditative and solitary for me.

    A good pub provides the perfect setting for the deepest contemplation of the self, the universe and everything else..

    • Well, if I ever see you sitting alone in a pub I’ll be sure to sit somewhere else and leave you to your thoughts.

      I like that kind of drinking when at home: everyone else has gone to bed, I pour a tasty beer, put some music on very low, gaze at the mantelpiece and philophisise.

Leave a Reply

 
